Titans honored by Central Piedmont 4-A Conference

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 14, 2018

By Marc Pruitt
For the Clemmons Courier

West Forsyth athletes piled up individual accolades during the spring sports season and were recently recognized by the Central Piedmont 4-A Conference for their achievements.

Forty-nine players spread across nine different teams were honored, just off the record haul of 50 all-conference selections during spring sports in 2017.

The Titans’ spring sports teams won conference championships in boys and girls track — with both those teams also capturing the Midwest 4-A Regional titles in dominant fashion — and the softball team won the conference tournament. The Titans had several teams make deep runs in the 4-A state playoffs.

The girls track and field team swept the notable individual honors in the conference.

Destiny Griffin (discus, shot put) was named as the Athlete of the Year for the field events. Eliza Broce (1600, 3200) was named Distance Runner of the Year. Jada Dowd (200, 400, 4×400 relay, high jump) was named the Sprinter of the Year, and Nathan Newsome was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Jeff Thompson, the boys track coach, was also honored as the Coach of the Year.

The girls softball team, which finished tied for second in the regular season league standings before winning the conference tournament, won its first two games of the state tournament before losing to South Caldwell in the third round. Junior Alex Rodriguez was selected as the league’s softball Pitcher of the Year and Kevin Baity was named the Coach of the year.

The girls soccer team, the defending state champions, came up just short in their bid to repeat after a 4-1 loss in the third round against Charlotte Myers Park, which ended up as the state runner-up.

The baseball team advanced to the fourth round of the state tournament before falling to Charlotte Ardrey Kell, which also wound up as the eventual state runner-up.

Kendyl Stewart was recognized as the Offensive Player of the Year in girls lacrosse after scoring 79 goals and having 27 assists in leading the Titans to the third round of the state playoffs.

Here is the complete list of all-conference selections:

Girls track and field

Dowd, Ajile Flynt (long jump, 4×100 relay, Asia Phillips (triple jump, 4×100, 300 hurdles), Skyela Amsberry (triple jump, pole vault), Griffin, Gracie Chagula (wheelchair shot put, wheelchair discus, wheelchair 100), Ari Carroll (100 hurdles, 4×100), Alexia Chapman (100 hurdles, 300 hurdles, 4×400 relay), Broce, Destiny Hill (4×100 relay), Eliza Janzef (400, 4×400 relay), Shannaya Davis (4×400 relay).

Boys track and field

Ja’Quan McMillian (long jump), Elijah Bulaitan (pole vault), Mason Ellis (shot put, discus), Nathan Myers (discus), Will Atkins (800, 4×400 relay, 4×800 relay), Roy Hopgood (800, 4×400, 4×800), Nick Harper (4×800), Brock Newsome (4×800), Dimitri Hondros (100), Braxton Ware (400, 4×400), Ramez Ghobrial (4×400).


Samantha Martin, Sydney Joyner, Meghan Doty, Brianna Lucero


Jackson Coats, Jackson Caroway, Ethan Nicholls


Brooklyn Berry, Briannna Hudnall, Erin Blevins, Riley Terry, Riley Dorman


Peyton Brown, Jacob Baldini, Lyle Pfingst, Scout Cox, Gianni Smith

Girls Lacrosse

Brittany Pritchard, Ashley Melton, Malory Freiberg, Taya Lambert, Morgan Cames

Boys Lacrosse

Addison DeLucia


Jackson Gilliam