Around the village: Town news

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 21, 2018

Appalachian State honors

The following students from Lewisville and Clemmons were named the the Appalachian State University spring semester Chancellor’s list.
Chancellor’s List eligibility: Awarded to full-time students (an undergraduate student who carries 12 hours or more of coursework on which grade points are computed) who receive a grade-point average of 3.85 or higher for the current semester. Only courses earning credit toward graduation are used to determine eligibility.

From Clemmons:

Monica Gabrielle-marie Atkins
Joshua David Chesnut
Gabrielle Elise Drum
Madeline Rita Gaillard
Espen Maclean Hafkey
Hampton Marie Hynes
Shayla Brooke Jones
Peter Kennith Daniel Kenn
Jessica Aileen Kleean
Samantha Alyse Lew
Isaac A. Medina Silva
Lauren Grace Miller
Meredith Amanda Paige
Nelson Henry Russ
Zane Robert Sink
Rachel Grace Thomas
Ansley Alson Tilley
Leah Kathleen Wilson

From Lewisville:

Jamie Lee Copeland
Harris Brad Craig III
Madelyn Elyse Gelly
Charlotte Heloise Godfrey
Bryce Manning Johnson
Jordan Michael Kota
Hannah Marie Larsen
Morgan E. Rothrock

The following students from Clemmons and Lewisville were named to the Appalachian State University spring semester Dean’s List.
Dean’s List eligibility: An undergraduate student who carries 12-14 hours of coursework on which grade points are computed and who attains a grade point average of 3.45 or better for the current semester. An undergraduate student who carries 15 hours of coursework and who attains a grade point average of 3.25 or better for the current semester.

From Clemmons: 

Karissa M. Bowman
Andrew James Carros
David S. Corcoran
Callia Jacqueline Cortese
Celeste Claire Curti
Andrea Maria Deras
Lauren Alexa Easter
Casey Eileen Eisinger
Giuseppe Robert Fanale
Manuel Rousseau Gutierrez
Marcel Domingo Gutierrez
Ethan Foley Harris
Joshua Ryan Kostak
Hedrick Alexander Leonard
Jennifer Margaret McLaughlin
Loren Dale Melton
Claire Alene Myers
Elizabeth Laura Neblett
Lauren V. Olds
Lais Parra Borges
Jessica Dawn Phillips
Garrett Neil Sandy
Eric Vaughn Schlicher
Katherine Ann Scott
Mary Davis Steen
Amalia Elizabeth Tsigas
Wesley David Warren
Daniel Johnson Watkins
Elizabeth G. Wilson
Madison Lynn Wylam
Ben Douglas Young

From Lewisville:
Peyton Elizabeth Anderson
Ansley Brooke Cannon
David Ian Deakle
Maggie Sue Krier
Cooper Lowery Larue
Zachary Scott Morris
Ilyssa Jane Pachao
Madeline Louise Perkins
Dylan James Smith
Sarah Elizabeth Spencer
Ashley Nicole Taylor
Brianna Rachelle Thomas
Hanna Lynn Vrooman


Krell awarded Chancellor’s Scholarship at Appalachian

BOONE — West Forsyth High School graduate Abraham “Abe” Krell, from Clemmons, is one of 10 incoming first-year students at Appalachian State University that have been awarded the prestigious Chancellor’s Scholarship, which covers full institutional costs for four years of study. The Chancellor’s Scholarship is Appalachian’s oldest and most academically competitive merit-based scholarship.

Krell, who intends to major in geography with a concentration in geographic information systems, was an Eagle Scout and served as the president of the West Forsyth High School chapter of the North Carolina Technology Student Association. A North Carolina Governor’s School East attendee, he is passionate about the natural sciences and enjoys competing on various teams with the Academic Competition for Excellence.

Regarding his goals after attending Appalachian, Krell said, “I hope to find a career that involves helping others through strengthening our environment. I have always been interested in geography and studying how people interact with others in their communities.” He is the son of Linda-Sue and Roy Krell.

“These incoming Chancellor’s Scholars truly represent individuals eager to engage in and embrace the life-changing Appalachian experience,” Chancellor Sheri Everts said. “Their ambitious academic goals and demonstrated dedication to community service and leadership have earned them this honor. Appalachian will provide them an environment where they can thrive and become engaged global citizens.”

Chancellor’s Scholars may be in any major program and are leaders in the Honors College at Appalachian. The scholarship offers full institutional costs for eight semesters and other academic and cocurricular benefits, including special housing and travel opportunities. Students must maintain a 3.45 minimum grade point average to renew the scholarship each year.

 Local students named to Dean’s List at Anderson University

ANDERSON, S.C. — Rachel Buckner and Ashley Bultman from Clemmons and Allie Thompson from Lewisville have been named to the Dean’s List at Anderson University for the spring semester. In order to be named to the Dean’s List, a student must maintain a 3.5 grade point average or higher for the semester.