Couriering Clemmons — What was happening in 1964

Published 12:00 am Thursday, December 6, 2018

Couriering the area this week in 1964 — Mrs. Jerry Gobble, of Clemmons, was the featured, “Artist of the Kitchen” as the cook of the week in the Courier. She shared several of her family’s favorite recipes.

Mrs. Marvin Hensley, of Clemmons, and Mrs. B. S. Nixon of the Good Neighbor Club, were honored for their leadership at the annual Forsyth County Achievement Day program for home demonstration club members.

The new Clemmons Presbyterian Church was dedicated with a special service followed by an open house.

The Village Store, owned and operated by Joe Farrell of Clemmons, opened in a remodeled building on U.S. 158 across from the Clemmons Triangle between Furches Brothers Hardware and R.B. Hendrix Grocery.

Those who represented the West Forsyth High School at the Future Teachers of America Convention at UNC-Greensboro included Carolyn Messick, president; Sally Jones, vice-president; Sherry Myers, treasurer; Darlene Allgood, reporter; Sharon Messick, student council; Dianne Shoaf, secretary and members Wanda Joyner, Brenda Robbins and Gaye Holcomb.

R. Pete Brewer, chief of the Clemmons Fire Department, was elected second vice-president of the Forsyth County Volunteer Firemen’s Association at a dinner held at the Sedge Garden Community Center.

The Clyde H. Holder Grading team took over the top spot in the Lewisville PTA basketball league with a 49-40 win over John McInnis Used Cars. Marcus Allred was high scorer for the night with 23 points. Don Craft had 22, Joe Young with 20, Johnny Stewart with 17, Jody Poteet with 16 and Don Collins with 14.

Brownies in the Lewisville Troop No. 26 attended the Candle Tea at Old Salem. Brownies that attended were Gay Harper, Teresa Davidson, April Wilson, Sharon Phelps, Cindy Stimpson, Sandra Westmoreland, Miranda Blanchard, Donna Sloan, Ellen McBride, Allisa Smith, Pam Sturdivant, Sally McKee, Penny Dull, Shannon Hughes, Sheila Bowers, Cindy Harris, Diana Walsh, Sue Taylor, Patsy Foster, Lila Smith, Kay Hauser, Vickie Isgett, Tonya Reavis, Robin Fulton, Jane Connor and Cathy Lane.

Brownie Troop No. 4 met for a membership star ceremony and a Christmas party. Stars were received for each year that a girl is a Brownie. Those receiving stars were Linda Barnette, Robin Beshears, Dorothy Bowman, Beverly Christie, Pamela Howard, Kim McDougle, Ruth Miller and Althea Robbins.