Couriering Clemmons — This week in 1986

Published 12:00 am Thursday, December 23, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Couriering this area this week in 1986 — 35 years ago: 

When it comes to having a parade, the folks in Lewisville know just how to accomplish this. Sunday was the annual Christmas parade down Shallowford Road. The cool winter temperatures did not hamper attendance as the street was with ages of all parade-watchers. Ward Spease was the popular grand marshal of the parade. He was closely followed by Lewisville’s jovial honorary mayor John Craft. Little Miss Clemmons, Anita Crotts, was one of the multitudes of miniature beauties riding in the parade.

Shannon Pugh and Devan Walsh will not be observing the traditional Christmas to which they are accustomed. The two West Forsyth Titanides will be practicing their dance routine for performance in the Aloha Bowl in Waikiki, Hawaii, on Dec. 27. Pugh and Walsh will be performing with the Super Star Drill Team in a parade, pre-game activities and at half time.

Two local men have been selected for inclusion in the 1986 edition of Outstanding Young Men of America. Maurice Kent White of Clemmons and Robert David Alexander of Lewisville were selected after 150,000 nominations were received from political leaders, university and college officials, clergymen, business leaders, civic groups and organizations.

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas A. Cearley of Clemmons announced the birth of their second child, Wesley Thomas, on Nov. 2 at Forsyth Hospital. Mr. and Mrs. Ronnie Rierson of Clemmons are the maternal grandparents. The paternal grandparents are Mr. and Mrs. Robert Cearley of Lewisville.

In a special work session of the Clemmons Village Council, the members voted unanimously to give official status to the ad hoc Sewer Committee and Planning Committee. Village clerk Robert Caudill made the motion to make the two existing committees a part of the local government. Les Fry Sr. is chairman of the Sewer Committee, which spearheaded the recent drive to incorporate Clemmons. Members of the Planning Committee will represent both residential and commercial interests of Clemmons. Committee members are Hal Hyde, Bill Morgan, Bob Fulp, Don Hunter, and Pat Sheppard.

The West Forsyth Titans Football team, conference champions, finished with an overall 10-1-1 record, a 7-0 conference record and sixth in the state. Herman McKinnie was named Central Piedmont Conference Player of the Year, to the All Northwest Team, to the Shrine Bowl team and All Conference. Other All Conference players were Bobby Paige, Wade Dixon, Donald Carter, Phillip Truiett, Chris Wachter and Jeff Doty.