Couriering Clemmons: This week in 1992

Published 12:00 am Thursday, February 24, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Couriering Clemmons — What was happening this week in 1992:

A postal advisory council met to discuss the possibility of changing a Winston-Salem zip code to a Clemmons code for several residents of Rollingreen Village with a 27103 zip code. Any proposed change would not have to have unanimous consent of those living in the affected area. Mayor Nat Swanson asked postmaster Floyd Vaughn to provide a map to show who may be impacted and where they lived. Vaughn and Chris Jones, one of the members of the council, were selected as the co-chairmen. The announced plans once or twice a month.

The West Forsyth ACE team (Academic Competition for Excellence) picked up another win against Parkland to kept their unbeaten streak going. The program is divided into five sections — math, science, social studies, English and general knowledge. Carol Vogler served as the head coach for West. Each section has its own team members and a separate coach. Team captains were: Lindsay Rogers (English), Joel Marcey (Math), Andrew Worthen (Science), and Lynn Howis (Social Studies).

The Lakers, seeded third, knocked off top-seeded Cavs and won the senior girls tournament championship and the Celtics topped the top-seeded Pistons and to the boys intermediate division tournament to wrap up their Clemmons Cougars seasons. The Hornets claimed the junior girls division tournament championship and the Hornets, after scoring a season-high 73 points in the championship game, took the crown by beating the Lakers. The Clippers and Celtics were set to play in the super senior’s championship game, and the Rockets and Jazz made the senior boys championship final.

Eight seniors at West Forsyth were recognized by the Tandy Technology Scholars program as being in the top 2% in their class for academic scholarships. Each student received a certificate for this distinction as well as scholarship consideration. The students were Kerry Eleanor Buckley, Thomas Joseph Burger, Brantley Wade Gasaway, Marcus Davis Liner, Joel Ian Marcey, Christopher Tora Phan, Lindsay Cassandra Rogers and Kristen Jane Swaringen.