2023 municipal elections feature little suspense: Clemmons, Lewisville and Bermuda Run fill available positions with many familiar faces

Published 12:10 am Thursday, November 16, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

There was little drama in last Tuesday’s 2023 municipal election in Clemmons as Mike Rogers, the incumbent mayor, faced no opposition on the ballot, and there were three candidates seeking the same number of seats on the council.

The only suspense, barring an onslaught of write-in votes, was which candidates running for council seats would secure four-year terms as the top two vote-getters and who would get a two-year term as the third-place finisher.

So the two incumbent candidates, Bradley Taylor (698 votes) and Mike Combest (677) landed four-year terms, and political newcomer Randy Wooden garnered 618 votes to grab a two-year term. There were 64 write-in votes.

Rogers claimed a second two-year term as mayor, again running unopposed as he did in 2021, with 747 votes. There were 31 write-in votes.

“I would like to express my sincerest gratitude to all those who took the time to vote during the recent election,” Rogers said. “I am truly humbled by your support in electing me to serve as mayor of the village of Clemmons. I am happy to announce that we will be working with a talented and enthusiastic group of individuals on the council for the next two years. “Councilmen Combest and Taylor have already demonstrated their leadership and commitment to this community in their previous seats on the council. We would also like to extend a warm welcome to councilman Wooden, whose involvement and leadership on the Clemmons Planning Board has impressed us greatly.”

Incumbents Michelle Barson and Mary Cameron were the two top vote-getters in the 2021 election and have two years remaining on their four-year terms.

Chris Wrights, an incumbent who has served two consecutive four-year terms on the council since 2015 and was the No. 1 choice in a crowded race in 2019, decided not to run again this year.

In Lewisville, where the mayor also serves a two-year term, incumbent Mike Horn, who has served the town for 26 years — including the last 10 as mayor — is returning to his familiar position while the council will have somewhat of a new look.

While the three incumbents running — Melissa Hunt (860 votes), Ken Sadler (823 votes) and Jane Welch (746 votes) — led the ballot, newcomers Monte Long (718 votes), Julia Puckett (699 votes) and 22-year-old Ivan Huffman (627 votes) secured the other three spots on the council.

Ven Challa (564 votes) finished just out of the top six. There were 55 write-in votes.

Meanwhile, Horn received 965 votes in another run for mayor. There were 59 write-in votes.

“Our residents did a great job selecting those who will be representing them for the next two years,” Horn said. “We have three new council members and three returning council members ranging in age from the mid-20s to the mid-70s. I am very much looking forward to working with this group, who I believe all share a common positive vision for the future of our little town and will work well together in the best interests of our residents.”

In Bermuda Run, there will be a new mayor as Mike Brannon, who was the top vote-getter for the council in 2021, ran unopposed in a bid to seek the higher office after Rick Cross decided not to seek re-election. Brannon tallied 484 votes, while there were 17 write-in votes.

“As your incoming mayor, it is important to me that we continue the work under the leadership of Mayor Cross,” Brannon said. “I will work to maintain his proactive approach to networking and communicating with people. This includes meeting with residents of our communities, partnerships with our county leaders, engagements with our regional partners, and positive connections with our state and federal representatives.

“I also strongly believe an effective mayor must have solid relationships with each member of our town council and with the town staff, as these two groups are the engine of the town’s strategic and operational success. Thank you to everyone who took the time to vote and make your voices heard.”

There is also a change in the council mix with a pair of newcomers claiming the two available positions. Rae Nelson (331 votes) and Jeff Tedder (329 votes) won by a comfortable margin over Marty Wilson (158 votes) and Rod Guthrie (151 votes). There was one write-in vote.
Bermuda Run had a primary on Oct. 10 where the original field was narrowed down from five to four when Dave Gilpin was the low vote-getter. Current council members Curtis Capps and Heather Coleman did not file for re-election. Incumbents Mike Ernst and Melinda Szeliga have two years remaining on their terms.

With Brannon being elected mayor, his council seat will become vacant, and it will be the role of the council to appoint someone to fill his position. This is what happened four years ago after Cross was elected mayor and Ken Peacock was appointed to the council to replace him.





Unofficial Municipal Election Results (6 of 6 precincts reporting)


For Clemmons Mayor 


Mike Rogers – 747 votes (96.02% of the vote)

Write-In (Miscellaneous) – 31 votes (3.98%)


For Clemmons Council (Vote For 3)


Bradley Taylor – 698 votes (33.93% of the vote) 

Mike Combest – 677 votes (32.91%)

Randy Wooden – 618 votes (30.04%)

Write-In (Miscellaneous) – 64 votes (3.11%)



Unofficial Municipal Election Results (9 of 9 precincts reporting)


For Lewisville Mayor 


Mike Horn – 965 votes (94.24 % of the vote) 

Write-In (Miscellaneous) – 59 votes (5.76%)


For Lewisville Council (Vote For 6)


Melissa Hunt – 860 votes (16.89% of the vote)

Ken Sadler – 823 votes (16.16%)

Jane Welch – 746 votes (14.65%)

Monte Long – 718 votes (14.10%)

Julia Puckett – 699 votes (13.73%)

Ivan Huffman – 627 votes (12.31%)

Ven Challa – 564 votes (11.08%)

Write-In (Miscellaneous) – 55 votes (1.08%)



Unofficial Municipal Election Results (1 of 1 precincts reporting)


For Bermuda Run Mayor (Vote For 1)


Mike Brannon – 484 votes (96.61% of the vote) 

Write-In (Miscellaneous) – 17 votes (3.39%)


For Bermuda Run Council (Vote For 2)


Rae Nelson – 331 votes (34.12% of the vote)

Jeff Tedder – 329 votes (33.92%)

Marty Wilson – 158 votes (16.29%)

Rod Guthrie – 151 votes (15.57%) 

Write-In (Miscellaneous) – 1 vote (0.10%)