Titans’ athletes, coaches receive Central Piedmont 4-A All-Conference honors in spring sports

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 30, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Jay Spivey 

For the Clemmons Courier

CLEMMONS — Spring sports have completed at West Forsyth and with that come plenty of honors.  

The Central Piedmont 4-A officially announced its spring all-conference awards for the nine sports on Tuesday and West Forsyth is well represented. West Forsyth had five players of the year and three coaches of the year.  

The players of the year were Aislynn Maguire, who was named offensive player of the year in girls soccer, Jordan Stephens, who was named field athlete of the year in boys track and field for the high jump and long jump, Hershal Patel, who was named player of the year in boys golf, Sydney Horton for girls softball, and Alivia Gurley, who was named defensive player of the year in girls soccer. 

The coaches of the year were Jeffrey Williams in girls soccer, Sara Cranford in boys tennis, and Doug Brawley in girls lacrosse. 

The West Forsyth girls soccer team won the conference with an overall record of 17-4-1 and 13-1 in the conference. It also reached the third round of the NCHSAA Class 4-A playoffs.  

In addition to Maguire and Williams, Hannah Hanes, Abby Reutinger, Reese Williams, and Milly Garcia-Olmedo made all-conference from West Forsyth.  

From East Forsyth, Erica Matthews, Emma Owens, Mylie Lockwood and Kadence Clark made it for girls soccer. Emily Huppert, Reagan Grant, Molly Johnson and Aleina Vo made it for Reagan. Lucy Joseph, Harper Connolley, Kate Ledgerwood and Dayanara Arreola-Rojo made it from Mount Tabor. Molly Stitzel, Lucy Stoter, Libby Holden and Ruby Ferree made it from Reynolds. 

From Davie County, Jaden Sink was named defensive player of the year, and Lauren Colamarino also made all-conference. Kirin Stewart of Glenn and Marth Carmona De La Rosa of Parkland also made it.  

The girls lacrosse team dominated the regular season and finished with an overall record 19-2 and 12-0 in the conference. It reached the third round of the NCHSAA Class 4-A tournament. Other than Brawley and Gurley, the girls lacrosse all-conference team is littered with West Forsyth players. Bailey Fox, Tatum Snow, Sofia Trombino, Brighde Mullen and Gaby Vestal all made it from West Forsyth. 

Adelaide Merrick of Reynolds was named offensive player of the year in girls lacrosse. Also, for Reynolds, Elizabeth Kim, Ada Farmer, Nell Chandler, Avery Ehrman, Charlotte Beilman and Millie Powers. Reagan had six players – Rachel Cramer, Ella Willard, Ruby Morales, Isley Rives, Chloe Harris, and Dottie Dixon. Lilly Pike and Olivia Stone of East Forsyth, Kinna Chamberlain and Danika Williams of Davie County, and Abby Petros and Annabella Veneziano of Mount Tabor made it. 

No players from the West Forsyth boys lacrosse team made it after finishing 0-14 overall and 0-12 in the conference. As far as other schools in the conference, JT Hanson of Reagan is the offensive player of the year, Cooper Mihalko of Reagan is the defensive player of the year, and Kyle Green of Glenn was named coach of the year.  

The Titans’ softball had another banner season. With the help of Coach Kevin Baity, the Titans finished 24-4 overall and 12-2 in the conference. Both conference losses were to Reagan, but West Forsyth avenged those losses by defeating Reagan 1-0 in the conference-tournament championship. 

In addition to Horton being named softball player of the year, five other girls from West Forsyth made all-conference – Madisen Barringer, Morgan Maxwell, Kaylyn Riddle, Timia Sales and Lilliana Parker.  

Caycee Wilson of Reagan was named pitcher of the year and Bradley Sawyer of Reagan was named coach of the year. Other players from Reagan who made all-conference were Bailey Huff, Lilah Clayman, Kayden Goins and Kailey Burnette.  

Davie is represented by Riley Potts, Jadyn Davis, Ashley Bledsoe, Raelyn Lakford and Carleigh Croom. East Forsyth, which lost to West Forsyth in the first round of the NCHSAA Class 4-A tournament had had five players – Mariah Davis, Hannah Niten, Madison Jones, Irelynn Price and Sarah May – make it. From Glenn, Kendall Fraas and Brooklyn Hardin made it, and Sarah Simpkins of Reynolds was named.  

The West Forsyth baseball team finished 23-7 overall and 11-3 in the conference, won the conference tournament, and it also reached the NCHSAA Class 4-A quarterfinals before losing to top-seeded Asheville Roberson. Therefore, the team is well represented with Landon Church, Jack Vest, Grayson Jones, William Holden IV and Parker Trexler making all-conference.  

Reagan, which won the regular-season championship, but lost to West Forsyth in the third round of the playoffs had six players make it, including Mason Middleton, who is player of the year, and John Lobs, who is named pitcher of the year. Gary Nail of Reagan was also named coach of the year. In addition, Brady Marshall, Cole Rice, Jacob Smith and Charlie Stogner from Reagan made all-conference. 

East Forsyth’s Evan Lecnar, Austin Federspiel, Ray Hutchins and Chase Smith made it, and Chase Gora, Brayden Winters, Evan Britt and Craig McGhee made it from Glenn. Coy Jones, Drew Krause and Hunter Potts from Davie County, and Will Koonin and Lawson Adams of Mount Tabor made it.  

The West Forsyth boys tennis team finished undefeated in the conference and are well represented on the all-conference team. In addition to Cranford being named coach of the year, Xavier Lopez, Seam Cooper, John Howell and Aiden Seymour made all-conference from West Forsyth.  

Landon Wyshner of Mount Tabor was named player of the year. In addition to Wyshner, Isaac Woods and Josh Amato from Mount Tabor also made all-conference. Reagan’s Bennett Russell, Bradyn Neal, Nikhil Kriplani and Ethan Stuart made it. Zach Hill and Hayden Key of Davie County, Ward Suttle and James Edmundson of Reynolds, and Grant Walters and Landon Rice of East Forsyth also were named. 

In addition to Patel being named boys golfer of the year, Aiden Koontz and Logan Garrison from West Forsyth made all-conference. Scott Spillman of Davie County was named coach of the year. In addition to Spillman, Evan Owen, Beck Owen, Landon Packard, Anderson Beliveau and Cooper Drum from Davie County made all-conference. From Reagan, Connor Lynde and Adams Mutai made it. Chase McLaughlin of Glenn, Gianni Alfaro of East Forsyth, and Wesley Driscoll from Reynolds made it.  

West Forsyth also littered the all-conference voting in boys and girls track and field. In addition to Stephens being named boys field athlete of the year, in boys track and field for West Forsyth, Sean Davis was named all-conference for the triple jump, Tyson Adams in the 100-meter dash, Aydin Davis in the 400 made all conference. Also, West Forsyth’s 4×800-meter relay team of Shane Cornett, Jonah LeGrande, Colby Groce and Gunnar Douglass were named all-conference.  

Rance Springs of Mount Tabor was named runner of the year, and Patrick Cromwell of Mount Tabor was named coach of the year. Tate Shore from Reagan was named boys distance runner of the year.  

In girls track and field, West Forsyth’s Hope Newsome made all-conference in the long jump, Krisa Coleman-Simon made it for the triple jump, and Noelle Childs in the pole vault. 

Mount Tabor’s Eliza Brand was named girls distance runner of the year and Christopher Page was named coach of the year. Alexis Vaughan of Reagan was named girls sprinter of the year and Londyn Green-Dubose from Parkland was named field athlete of the year.